Books I Had To Read In Secondary School And College


So I originally saw this post on Faeryreads ( @faeryreads – twitter ) blog titled ‘Books I Had To Read For High School!’ and I thought it would be fun to do my own. Check out Faeryreads post – they read (or didn’t read πŸ˜‚πŸ€£) a few interesting and popular books!

I am from the UK, hence the term Secondary School rather than High School, so it will be fun to see how much overlap there is in the books chosen for each school! I loved to read and so I would try to read all the books we were set, though we read some during class so they were unavoidable, but at times I too fell pray to the use of SparkNotes if I had fallen behind or forgotten to do the reading. In College/Sixth Form, however, I did read all the books I was set as the essays were not so easy to bluff through πŸ˜‚.


Secondary School Reads:

I am not going to split these up by each school year – because it was too long ago for me to remember all of them. So I will split the lower years from my GCSE reads.

βœ”- Read it. ❌- Did not read it. βž–- DNF

Year 7 + 8 + 9 Books:

Set Reading:Extra Curricular recommendations:
A Christmas Carol, Charles Dickens βž–Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte βœ”
Romeo and Juliet, Shakespeare βœ”Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen βœ”
The Tempest, Shakespeare ❌

So, I probably did read more books than I have listed – but I cannot remember them – this was around 9 or so years ago πŸ˜…. But, these are the ones I remember so were going to go with it!

Romeo and Juliet was a play we did far too often, as a result it now bores me (despite my slight love for Shakespeare’s works) and it is one I did read because we read it as a class.

I vaguely remember The Tempest, and I certainly did not read it (though I was often absent at this time due to illness).

A Christmas Carol – if you know me then you know I am a sucker for Dickens BUT this is one of his works that I did get bored of simply because I knew the story well already.

Pride and Prejudice and Wuthering Heights we were recommended these from year 7. I read them, did not fully understand them, read them again a few years later, and now I love them. Though P + P is the one I love more.

Year 10 and 11 Books (GCSE):

Set Reading: βœ” – Read All Of Them βœ”βœ”
Lord Of The Flies, by William Golding
Macbeth, by Shakespeare
A View From The Bridge, by Arthur Miller

For all three of these we read them during class, though we also had to read some for homework, and I did read all of them as they were for my GCSE exams. However, I did prefer Lord Of The Flies and Macbeth over A View From The Bridge. I enjoyed their themes and context much more and thought that A View From The Bridge was a little weird and boring in comparison.


College/Sixth Form Reads (A-Levels):

Set Reading: βœ” – Read All Of Them βœ”βœ”Extra Curricular/Support:
The Great Gatsby, by Scott F FitzgeraldDracula, by Bram Stoker βœ”
Great Expectations, by Charles DickensJane Eyre, by Bronte βœ”
Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley The Catcher In The Rye, by J D Salinger βž–
In Cold Blood, by Truman CapoteNever Let Me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro βœ”
Much Ado About Nothing, by ShakespeareThe Remains Of The Day, by Kazuo Ishiguro βœ”
Kindertransport, by Diane SamuelsWuthering Heights (again), by Bronte βœ”
The Strange Case Of Dr Jekyll And Mr Hyde, by R.L Stevenson

Again, these were all for exams and coursework so I read ALL of the set reading, and quite happily so as I had chosen English as an A-Level! I Also read most of the recommended extra reading, but The Catcher In The Rye I could not finish – the main character bored and annoyed me and eventually I just gave up with it. But, all of my other reads went on to interest me! With Frankenstein, In Cold Blood, Great Expectations, and Jane Eyre becoming some of my all time favourite classic novels! Much Ado is also now one of my favourite Shakespeare comedies.

Kazuo Ishiguro’s books are ones I actually read after finishing my A-Levels as they had no impact on my exams, I enjoyed them both but Never Let Me Go holds preference.


Our school did teach more books such as Brighton Rock, Animal Farm, Of Mice and Men, and The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-time, but as we were put in classes based on academic ability, I did not read these ones, though out of interest I did read Animal Farm and Of Mice and Men after I finished school!

What did you all read in school? Did you read the same books as me, or completely different ones? Let me know in the comments!


17 comments

  1. In the US, we read many of the same classics – the only difference is I don’t think we read as many, especially Shakespeare.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Living in Norway we read more of the classics by Norwegian authors. I did however read Pride & Predjudice during sixth form, and then The Great Gatsby and Catcher in the Rye for a course at Uni.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really wanted to like a Christmas carol but I’ve tried it as a grown up and I just think it’s dull. I hated Sunset song when I was in school but I was looking at it recently wondering if I should now give it a try as an adult.

    Great idea for a blog post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Christmas Carol is one that I just don’t like as much as his other works – I think it is quite dull too in comparison! Ooh I never read that perhaps I should try it πŸ™‚ Thank you! it was a fun idea to do as my own (Faeryreads post was fun so I thought why not! πŸ™‚ )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.